Tampa Carrying A Concealed Weapon Lawyer – Florida Carrying A Concealed Weapon Defense Attorney
Carrying a Concealed Weapon Defense Attorney in Tampa, FL
Florida allows residents and non-residents alike to carry concealed weapons, but only with a license. Doing so without a license is a felony and carries substantial penalties: jail, fines, even prison time. If you have been charged with this crime, do not act without experienced legal representation.
If you or a loved one are facing carrying a concealed weapon charges in the Tampa, FL, area, call Armando Edmiston, an experienced Tampa carrying a concealed weapon criminal defense lawyer, today.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon: Legal Concealed Carry in Tampa, FL
Florida, like almost every other state, issues licenses that allow licensees to carry concealed weapons. The weapons covered by these licenses include handguns, stun guns, tear gas guns, knives and billie clubs. Concealed carry licenses are not reserved for residents but can be issued to almost any adult, including an out-of-stater, who has not been convicted of a felony, committed to a mental institution, declared incapacitated or deemed a drug addict. To qualify for a license, you must be at least 21 years old; you must be physically able to use your weapon safely; you must not be barred as a convicted felon from possessing your weapon if it is a firearm; you must have no drug convictions within the last three years; you must have no convictions, withheld convictions or suspended sentences for misdemeanor violence within the last three years; you must not have been committed to a psychiatric institution or, if you were, you must have a letter from a psychiatrist showing your condition has not been disabling for at least five years; you must not have been declared incapacitated or, if you were, you must be able to show the incapacitation ended at least five years ago; you must not have had any convictions withheld or sentences suspended for domestic violence within the last three years; you must have no domestic violence restraining orders against you; you must be able to demonstrate competency in handling your weapon if it is a firearm; and you must not be a chronic substance abuser. The department that issues concealed carry licenses will presume you are a chronic substance abuser if, within the last three years, you were committed for substance abuse treatment, convicted of using a firearm while under the influence, declared a habitual offender of Florida’s disorderly intoxication statute, or convicted two or more times of driving under the influence. Concealed carry licenses last seven years and cost $85.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon: Illegal Concealed Carry in Tampa, FL
It is not legal to carry a concealed weapon everywhere, however, even with a license. Concealed carry licenses do not cover places of public nuisance; law enforcement stations; detention facilities, prisons and jails; courthouses; courtrooms (judges and their designees are exempt); polling places; municipal, county and school government meetings; meetings of the Legislature; school, college and professional athletic events not related to firearms; school buildings; career centers; bars; college and university buildings (students, employees and faculty who carry stun guns are exempt); the inner areas of airport terminals; and any place where federal law prohibits firearms. Carrying a concealed weapon to any of these places while holding a concealed carry license is a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by at most 60 days in jail. Carrying a concealed weapon anywhere without a license is a third-degree felony and carries a maximum penalty of five years in prison. This does not apply to carrying stun guns or self-defense chemical sprays such as pepper spray.