Tampa Carrying a Concealed Firearm Lawyer – Florida Carrying a Concealed Firearm Defense Attorney
Carrying a Concealed Firearm Defense Attorney in Tampa, FL
Florida is one of a number of states that allows its residents to carry concealed firearms. But there are legal requirements for carrying a concealed gun, and when these are not met, serious criminal charges are possible. If you have been charged with carrying a concealed firearm, it is imperative that you obtain experienced legal counsel before making any decisions or statements about your case.
If you or a loved one are facing carrying a concealed firearm charges in the Tampa, FL, area, call Armando Edmiston, an experienced Tampa carrying a concealed firearm criminal defense lawyer, today.
Carrying a Concealed Firearm: Legal Concealed Carry in Tampa, FL
Florida, like all but one other state, issues licenses to gun owners who want to carry their firearms concealed. Only handguns are covered by these licenses. Florida issues these licenses not only to state residents but to out-of-staters — indeed, to almost any adult who has not been convicted of a felony, committed to a mental institution, declared incapacitated or deemed a drug addict. To qualify for a license, an applicant must be at least 21; must be physically able to use a firearm safely; must not be barred from gun possession as a convicted felon; must have no drug convictions within the last three years; must have no convictions, withheld convictions or suspended sentences for misdemeanor violence within the last three years; must not have been committed to a psychiatric institution or, if he was, must have a letter from a psychiatrist showing his condition has not been disabling for at least five years; must not have been declared incapacitated or, if he was, must be able to prove the incapacitation ended at least five years ago; must not have had any convictions withheld or sentences suspended for domestic violence within the last three years; must have no domestic violence restraining orders against him; must be able to demonstrate gun competency; and must not be a chronic substance abuser. Chronic substance abuse is presumed if an applicant was committed for substance-abuse treatment within the last three years, was convicted of using a firearm while under the influence within the last three years, was declared a habitual offender of Florida’s disorderly intoxication statute within the last three years, or was convicted two or more times within the last three years of driving under the influence. Florida’s concealed carry licenses last seven years and cost $85.
Carrying a Concealed Firearm: Exempted Places and Illegal Concealed Carry in Tampa, FL
Even with a license, concealed carry is not legal everywhere. Concealed carry licenses do not extend to places of public nuisance; law enforcement stations; detention facilities, prisons and jails; courthouses; courtrooms (judges and their designees are exempt); polling places; municipal, county and school government meetings; meetings of the Legislature; school, college and professional athletic events not related to firearms; school buildings; career centers; bars; college and university buildings; the inner areas of airport terminals; and any place where federal law prohibits firearms. Carrying a concealed firearm to any of these places while holding a concealed carry license is a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by at most 60 days in jail. Carrying a concealed firearm anywhere without a concealed carry license is a third-degree felony and carries a maximum penalty of five years in prison.